The Rotary Club of New Brunswick held the annual Paul Harris Recognition Dinner and installed incoming officers and board members for next Rotary year on June 2, 2016. Four club members and two other individuals with distinguished public service careers were honored with Paul Harris Fellowships for their exceptional community service and whose personal and professional activities represented the Rotary value of "Service above Self."
Charles Larsson was recognized for his outstanding leadership as the Club Treasurer, activities in community cultural and educational organizations, and for providing a smooth transition of his official duties to the in-coming treasurer next year.  Sharan Jain and John Salapatas were honored for their major contributions for planning and executing local community and international projects in partnership with clubs in our District.  Walter Deutsch was presented a Paul Harris award for his distinguished service as Club President this past year and his engagement as well as service on the boards of several educational and community organizations in the greater New Brunswick area.
The Club also honored two community members for their years of outstanding public service. Lee Livingston was named “New Jersey Person of the Year” by Governor Jim Florio and serves on the board of numerous organizations including the United Way of Central Jersey, the Jewish Social Services Committee, the Robert Wood Johnson Hospital Foundation and “Big Tent Judaism” for Jewish outreach. Blanquita Valenti is widely known for her service as a member of the New Brunswick City Council and the Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders.  She has received numerous community service awards for a distinguished public career and for her educational leadership.
Another highlight in the dinner program was awarding a Caroline Meuly Rotary Scholarship to Fredi Rivera. He is graduating with an impressive academic record from Middlesex County Vocational and Technical School and enrolling in New Jersey Institute of Technology in the fall.  This is the initial award of the endowed Rotary Scholarship established by the Club Board in the memory of Caroline Meuly. She was the first woman to serve as Club President, was an assistant prosecutor for Middlesex County for 35 years, championed reform of the criminal justice system for substance abuse defendants, and volunteered on many local educational and environmental groups.
District Governor Hal Daume presided over the swearing-in ceremony for the officers and Board members for the 2016/17 Rotary year. He was among the Rotary officials and guests who attended this event which included Adrienne Bzura, and the Presidents of the Hillsboro and Plainsboro Clubs.      
In-coming President Sharan Jain concluded the evening program by expressing appreciation for the leadership of outgoing President Walter Deutsch and the dedication of the Board members to the ideals of Rotary. He commented on the goals for next year to attract new members, increase diversity, undertake new projects locally and internationally, encourage future generation of Rotarians by fostering Rotaract and InterAct programs, and build social media presence in the communities that have been served by the Rotary Club of New Brunswick since 1920.